Trailing Kiiza Besigye in Amudat

I rejoined the campaigns on December 16th after a three week’s
technical hitch. Meaning i missed Mpigi, Bunyoro, Busoga, Bukedi and
Mbale.. But the far north invited a lot of curiosity. So, whatever
technicalities that lay ahead of me, i had to be part of the team.
Indeed i was.

Bleak future

Bleak future

But on the first day, i narrowly saw death. While connecting from
Mbale to Amudat which is in the Karamoja region, the press van, a
Toyota Hilux (UN Toyota) over turned at about 10 am while trying to
keep pace with Dr. Kiiza Besigye’s Landcruiser V8. Well, that was a
blander. You cannot chase a V8. Y ou just cannot.

A car carrying journalists is sorrounded my residence of Amudat soon after it over turned. I was in there!

A car carrying journalists is sorrounded my residence of Amudat soon after it over turned. I was in there!

I came out with minor injuries and so did five other colleagues of
mine. My cameras were all safe as they were still properly tucked in
the camera bag. It was fun getting back on the road again. Guys joked
about their probable last words of earth. Not surprising, most of them
had “my God”, “Jesus”…..for me, it was a long “Jeeeeeesus” as the
car went for its first bend.

Paying attention to Kiiza Besigye in Amudat

Paying attention to Kiiza Besigye in Amudat

We reached Amudat and had a good rally . The people were exciting and
not afraid to do anything in front of the camera. It was a heaven for
us. I particularly remember taking about 92 frames just to get the
shot i wanted.

Sky High: A girl plays on Amudat.

Sky High: A girl plays on Amudat.

Amudat marked the start of a bold one worded statement throughout the
region. Poverty. With the lack of rain in this region coupled with
instability in the form of rustling, this region, just like the larger
Karamoja is just beginning to get on its feet. People still beg
freely. Most have no idea what agriculture really is. Getting handouts
from mostly UN agencies has dominated these people’s lives.

We got done and drove to Nakapiripiti…

4 thoughts on “Trailing Kiiza Besigye in Amudat

  1. You’ve have wonderful, fantastic photographs here. Great work. And I can follow the campaign, too. I love it.

    I’ll be returning to Kampala/Karamoja next month to do some more photography work and a few other things. I’ve got a 64-page photography book soon to be released through my research center on Karamojong and Toposa seers. It been a wonderful project. I’d be happy to drop off a copy once its printed if you’re interested. Just let me know.

    Cheers,
    Khristopher Carlson

    • Carlson, thanks for dropping by. I am on the campaign trail and i will be able to write you a proper response when i get some free time on my hands. But thank you for appreciating my photographs. I will email you some more about Karamoja and my thought about the region.

      Cheers

Leave a Reply

